Some US coins will soon feature female trailblazers from different eras of American history, representing their accomplishments in fields spanning civil rights, politics, humanities and science. The four-year program will introduce five coins, representing a diverse group of historical icons, each year between 2022 and 2025. The Mint unveiled designs for the first batch recently. They include poet Maya Angelou, astronaut Sally Ride, actress May Wong, suffragist and politician Nina Otero-Warren and Wilma Mankiller, the first female principal chief of the Cherokee Nation. “These inspiring coin designs tell the stories of five extraordinary women whose contributions are indelibly etched in American culture. Generations to come will look at coins bearing these designs and be reminded of what can be accomplished with vision, determination, and a desire to improve opportunities for all,” said US Mint Acting Director Alison L. Doone.

Read Full Story